The Unreal and the Real

Selected Stories of Ursula K. Le Guin


Saga Press One-Volume Edition
Publication date: 18 October 2016
Table of Contents

The Unreal and the Real: Volume One, Small Beer Press   The Unreal and the Real: Volume Two, Small Beer Press

Volume One: What on Earth

Volume Two: Outer Space, Inner Lands

Ebook and audiobook via Small Beer Press

Small Beer Press
November 30, 2012


Awards, Reviews, & Essays


Some of the stories begin....

“On the planet O there has not been a war for five thousand years,” she read, “and on Gethen there has never been a war.”


On a sunny morning of 1962 in Cleveland, Ohio, it was raining in Krasnoy and the streets between grey walls were full of men.


Bela ten Belen went on a foray with five companions.


“You fell out of the sky,” the coyote said.


The silence of the Asonu is proverbial.


Jim remembers it as a bobcat, and he was May’s nephew, and ought to know.


“Small change,” my aunt said as I put the obol on her tongue. “I’ll need more than that where I’m going.”


I never go in the Two Blue Moons any more.


Although I have no intention of publishing this report, I think it would be nice if a grandchild of mine, or somebody’s grandchild, happened to find it some day, so I shall keep it in the leather trunk in the attic, along with Rosita’s christening dress and Juanito’s silver rattle and my wedding shoes and finneskos.


She was alive inside but dead outside, her face a black and dun net of wrinkles, tumors, cracks.


With a clamor of bells that set the swallows soaring, the Festival of Summer came to the city Omelas, bright-towered by the sea.


Tables of Contents

Volume One: What on Earth

Introduction by Ursula K. Le Guin

Brothers and Sisters

A Week in the Country

Unlocking the Air

Imaginary Countries

The Diary of the Rose

The Direction of the Road

The White Donkey

Gwilan’s Harp

Mays Lion

Buffalo Gals

Horse Camp

The Lost Children

The Water is Wide



Hand, Cup, Shell

Ether, OR

Half Past Four


Volume Two: Outer Space, Inner Lands

Introduction by Ursula K. Le Guin

The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas

Semley’s Necklace

Nine Lives


The First Contact with the Gorgonids

The Shobies’ Story


The Matter of Seggre


The Wild Girls

The Fliers of Gy

The Silence of the Asonu

The Ascent of the North Face

The Author of the Acacia Seeds

The Wife’s Story

The Rule of Names

Small Change

The Poacher


She Unnames Them


Saga Press One-Volume Edition

Volume One at Powell’s Books

Volume Two at Powell’s Books

Webthing brings you to navigation links
Website Copyright © 2019 Ursula K. Le Guin
Updated Tuesday, 18-Jun-2019 10:14:33 EDT